The Castle Doctrine Forums

Discuss the massively-multiplayer home defense game.

You are not logged in.

#1 2013-05-22 09:17:20

steakbbq

Suggestion for balancing against Bit locks and Magic dances.

Hi all, I started playing yesterday. It seems that the game is suffering from defenses that are nearly impossible to penetrate without brute force. Seeing as death is permanent, brute force really doesn't work and personally I feel is boring.

I have three suggestions on how it could be dealt with.

The first is, make animals way less reliable when it comes to pressing switches. If this means that sometimes they pass over switches without pressing them, or they are only reliable when pressing switches when the player can see them I don't know.

The other Idea I had was to maybe give the player an Item called the brute-forcer. Conceivably you could click it, it would then bring up a little menu and you could set the step patern, 1x2 2x2 2x3 etc and it will sit there and do the pattern really fast for as long as you like.

Third, Nerf the metal floors. Either make it so that they don't kill, but only incapacitate or so that they kill incapacitate and force the robber out of your house.

I feel that all of these solutions help to mitigate the power of guessing-security. I am in no way saying that my ways will work, however maybe we can come up with something better. I really like this game and want to see it actually be fun! As it is right now, the top 20 houses you walk into have a corral of floor grates with dogs on switches out of view, where is the fun in that?

Also make it so houses don't show up on the list if the owner hasn't logged in for x amount of hours, I was thinking 24. There are pages upon pages upon pages of houses I can just walk into and walk through some pre-drilled holes and grab a thousand.