The Castle Doctrine Forums

Discuss the massively-multiplayer home defense game.

You are not logged in.

#1 2014-02-02 00:07:31

Mufasa
Member
Registered: 2014-02-01
Posts: 4

Russian loc

Hello Jason,
I can translate The Castle Doctrine into Russian language.

Offline

#2 2014-02-02 05:29:06

sebastian
Member
Registered: 2014-01-31
Posts: 68

Re: Russian loc

You dont need to interact with Jason.
You can start translating right now.
Goto your \CastleDoctrine\Languages folder.
You will find a file there called English.txt
Open it in notepad. Translate all the quoted strings (should be like this: loginMessage "Вход в систему...")
Save as to "Russian.txt" in same folder.

Now open \CastleDoctrine\language.txt and change the text "English" to "Russian". Save.

Start game, and verify translation Went through. If thats case, upload Russian.txt to a server of your choice.
Link Russian.txt here in this thread. Done.

Offline

#3 2014-02-02 13:21:05

Mufasa
Member
Registered: 2014-02-01
Posts: 4

Re: Russian loc

Thank you.
I've translated it and here you can see the result.
The Game doesn't understand Russian.txt

Snimokekra_1202697_10721805.jpg
Do you know how to solve this problem?

But Swedish.txt works very well..

Offline

#4 2014-02-02 13:30:37

colorfusion
Member
Registered: 2013-04-02
Posts: 537

Re: Russian loc

The game doesn't seem to actually have russian characters, you may need to change font_4_8.tga and font_8_16.tga and draw them.

Offline

#5 2014-02-02 15:58:11

Mufasa
Member
Registered: 2014-02-01
Posts: 4

Re: Russian loc

which programs can I use?

Offline

#6 2014-02-02 18:21:59

jasonrohrer
Administrator
Registered: 2013-04-01
Posts: 1,231

Re: Russian loc

Any image editing program (GIMP, mtPaint) can edit TGA files.

I believe the font file given uses the Latin1 character encoding.

You'd need to pick a Cyrillic character encoding, put the characters in the right spots in the font file, and then save your Russian.txt language file using the same encoding.

You also may want to consider translating the info.txt and subInfo.txt files in the gameElements folder.

Offline

#7 2014-02-05 13:34:44

Mufasa
Member
Registered: 2014-02-01
Posts: 4

Re: Russian loc

I tried to open tga file, it's opened but I don't know how to associate an image file with a text file. Also, there are no info.txt and subInfo.txt

Snimokekra_7444685_10761258.jpg

Offline

#8 2017-11-19 14:10:05

mv
Member
Registered: 2017-11-19
Posts: 5

Re: Russian loc

I've made basic koi8-r tga(only letters) and languages files translation.
No items and human names translation yet and no keyboard layout switch.
Should be simular with other games, such as Sleep Is Death (keyboard switch is really important there)

You can get translation files here:
https://gitlab.com/morokov/castle-doctrine-ru

To install, copy all to the Castle Doctrine directory
ie ~/.steam/steam/steamapps/common/CastleDoctrine

Last edited by mv (2017-11-19 14:19:58)

Offline

#9 2017-11-22 16:19:05

mv
Member
Registered: 2017-11-19
Posts: 5

Re: Russian loc

got translation layout switch quick hack (worked for me on Debian/lxde)

https://gitlab.com/morokov/castle-doctrine-ru/raw/master/0001-quick-fix-for-layout-change.patch
to read switch page encoding to KOI-8R (F10 View/Text Encoding in Firefox)

items tools and names can be translated by adding to language file..

the only problem left is with tools and items with spaces (seems it needs another code edit)

Last edited by mv (2017-11-23 15:10:49)

Offline

#10 2017-12-07 12:58:41

mv
Member
Registered: 2017-11-19
Posts: 5

Re: Russian loc

with this patch it's possible to add translation for  'Empty Floor' and 'Exterior Wall':

https://gitlab.com/morokov/castle-doctrine-ru/raw/master/0001-working-draft-of-spaces-in-translation-keys.patch

now it will be helpful to have script which gets all object names and put it in file for translation

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB 1.5.8