The Castle Doctrine Forums

Discuss the massively-multiplayer home defense game.

You are not logged in.

#1 2013-06-27 10:30:47

nathan
Member
From: A ditch somewhere
Registered: 2013-06-15
Posts: 61

Why does the client say that the server's gone down?

Right when I finished building my new house and validated it, the client says that the server's gone down for maintenance. Is it? I don't see anything on the forum about it. All I hope is that my house was saved.


"I just robbed Mr. Rogers." -Ludicrosity "The wood is my desk, and I'm knocking it with my head." -Blip
"I'd rather pack 25 meats than 1 crowbar if you know what I mean..." -Jabloko
"This is one of the most disturbed things I have seen in quite a while. I blame global warming." -bey bey
"that seems like more resources than I'm willing to put into having my kids killed." -cbenny

Offline

#2 2013-06-27 10:37:51

bey bey
Member
Registered: 2013-04-20
Posts: 386

Re: Why does the client say that the server's gone down?

Says the same here so it looks like it might be true, there have been some issues in need of fixing lately so I wouldn't be surprised.

Fingers crossed for your house...


In fact you can be batman.
(if he robbed houses and murdered families.)
- Dalleck

Offline

#3 2013-06-27 10:43:28

colorfusion
Member
Registered: 2013-04-02
Posts: 537

Re: Why does the client say that the server's gone down?

Down for me too, normally there's no warning on the forums about quick downtimes.

Offline

#4 2013-06-27 10:49:29

bey bey
Member
Registered: 2013-04-20
Posts: 386

Re: Why does the client say that the server's gone down?

"Please download new version"? - seems v10 has shipped...

Slightly worried if the house I half scraped together today will work under v10 conditions.

Last edited by bey bey (2013-06-27 10:51:00)


In fact you can be batman.
(if he robbed houses and murdered families.)
- Dalleck

Offline

#5 2013-06-27 10:52:46

jearr
Member
Registered: 2013-04-18
Posts: 42

Re: Why does the client say that the server's gone down?

On the download page there is a big red message which says:

PLEASE WAIT! v10 will be available shortly

Offline

#6 2013-06-27 10:54:22

bey bey
Member
Registered: 2013-04-20
Posts: 386

Re: Why does the client say that the server's gone down?

Fingers crossed there's no world reset...........


In fact you can be batman.
(if he robbed houses and murdered families.)
- Dalleck

Offline

#7 2013-06-27 11:00:44

jasonrohrer
Administrator
Registered: 2013-04-01
Posts: 1,231

Re: Why does the client say that the server's gone down?

Uploading the v10 client builds now.

There's no world reset, but all tapes have been wiped (because they will no longer make sense with the new dog movement rules).

If you're in the middle of something when the server shuts down, it lets you finish that last operation before it kicks you.  So, you can finish editing your house, or finish a robbery.  But you can't start editing your house again or start a new robbery.

So, when you see that shutdown message, usually nothing you've done has been lost.

Furthermore, before actually changing anything, I watch the server admin interface after shutdown and make sure everyone's current action really has finished (so I don't change the server code out from underneath you, causing your last action to fail).

It works pretty well most of the time.  :-)

Offline

#8 2013-06-27 11:20:09

nathan
Member
From: A ditch somewhere
Registered: 2013-06-15
Posts: 61

Re: Why does the client say that the server's gone down?

Great! My house is good, by the way. I checked by clicking the login button.


"I just robbed Mr. Rogers." -Ludicrosity "The wood is my desk, and I'm knocking it with my head." -Blip
"I'd rather pack 25 meats than 1 crowbar if you know what I mean..." -Jabloko
"This is one of the most disturbed things I have seen in quite a while. I blame global warming." -bey bey
"that seems like more resources than I'm willing to put into having my kids killed." -cbenny

Offline

#9 2013-06-27 11:31:47

bey bey
Member
Registered: 2013-04-20
Posts: 386

Re: Why does the client say that the server's gone down?

Brilliant!!

And Nathan: It's TCD's tenth birthday, so I call for a party at your house. You provide the cake, we bring the torches. smile


In fact you can be batman.
(if he robbed houses and murdered families.)
- Dalleck

Offline

#10 2013-06-27 11:50:19

jearr
Member
Registered: 2013-04-18
Posts: 42

Re: Why does the client say that the server's gone down?

v10 is available for download.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB 1.5.8