The Castle Doctrine Forums

Discuss the massively-multiplayer home defense game.

You are not logged in.

#1 2013-11-04 06:02:48

joshwithguitar
Member
Registered: 2013-07-28
Posts: 538

I had two vaults!

And then died in self test before I could display them sad.

Here is a screen shot.

It is possible it would not have let me publish it if I passed the self test, I don't know.

Don't ask me how it happened. I have no idea.

two vaults

Offline

#2 2013-11-04 06:07:59

ukuko
Member
Registered: 2013-04-06
Posts: 333

Re: I had two vaults!

Aha! I like this a lot.

"Great, now I have to defend two of these infernal things!"

Offline

#3 2013-11-04 06:13:00

joshwithguitar
Member
Registered: 2013-07-28
Posts: 538

Re: I had two vaults!

Well the plan was to put one at the door surrounded by pits as in the screenshot to freak people out when they enter and then use the other to complete the test.

Offline

#4 2013-11-04 06:54:14

colorfusion
Member
Registered: 2013-04-02
Posts: 537

Re: I had two vaults!

Could also be used as indestructible walls on a house where your wife has the money.

Offline

#5 2013-11-05 12:30:53

jasonrohrer
Administrator
Registered: 2013-04-01
Posts: 1,231

Re: I had two vaults!

Josh sent me the recording of this, and I figured it out.

Fun stuff!

If you're in the middle of placing a vault (or a wife!), like, when the vault is ghosted and moving with your mouse, and you get timed out of your house edit right at that moment (like, you go away from keyboard for 6 minutes, and then pick up your vault as the very first thing you do upon returning, and get kicked out), when you return to the editing screen later, you will still be stuck in "place a vault" mode.

Fortunately, the server was checking for more than one vault and killing people if this happened.  HOWEVER, it was not checking for multiple wives (or kids), so this actually made it into a live house once (two twin wives in the same house).  This has been changed server-side.  Before this change, a modded client could have placed 100 wives without the server caring, or brought wives back to life, etc.

However, the v23 client will still allow this placement glitch to happen (though the server will now kill you).  v24 will have this editing glitch fixed.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB 1.5.8