The Castle Doctrine Forums

Discuss the massively-multiplayer home defense game.

You are not logged in.

#1 2015-01-27 17:02:19

mala
Member
Registered: 2014-02-10
Posts: 415

memory cells connection

how can i link memory cells in a series?

i want to make it so that each time you give power to the circuit (button in the exemple) you activate the next cell.

i'm not so good at that and every attempt i've made has failed.

http://castledraft.com/editor/15E0TL

can you link them?


Current Incarnation: none
Previous Houses: Ticking Nightmare - Luna's Park - Hightower Mansion - Chang's Place

Offline

#2 2015-01-27 19:50:56

JAAM
Member
Registered: 2014-11-22
Posts: 299

Re: memory cells connection

Well i'm quite terrible at these electronics but here is my idea.

A form of counter, (i'm assuming you could wire it up based on the timer mechanics.) that clicks every time you press that button. The timer counter thing would click powering the memory circuit that powers the voltage circuit allowing the timer to power the next.

I'm not sure if this is possible with these mechanics, and im not skilled enough to even try. but thats my attempted solution that you likely already tried...


You are unique, just like everybody else.

Offline

#3 2015-01-27 20:57:23

iceman
Member
Registered: 2013-11-09
Posts: 687
Website

Re: memory cells connection

I might take a crack at this smile Do you want the next light to turn on when you step on the button (change the power on->off or off->on), or when you turn the power on? Here's a really quick way that should turn on the next light every time you step on the button: http://castledraft.com/editor/dOwoLk (It might not work, and it probably won't work if you add more lights with the same pattern).  Also, do you want each circuit to be the only thing affecting the next circuit? (so you don't have a wire from the power source to each circuit, like there is in my example)


Fortress Theory Mod - New objects, tools, and paintings!

I keep dying of a natural cause - Stupidity
The biggest thing that Castle Doctrine has taught me is that the price of your house is proportional to the stupidity of the mistake that kills you.

Offline

#4 2015-01-28 09:07:12

mala
Member
Registered: 2014-02-10
Posts: 415

Re: memory cells connection

iceman wrote:

I might take a crack at this smile Do you want the next light to turn on when you step on the button (change the power on->off or off->on), or when you turn the power on? Here's a really quick way that should turn on the next light every time you step on the button: http://castledraft.com/editor/dOwoLk (It might not work, and it probably won't work if you add more lights with the same pattern).  Also, do you want each circuit to be the only thing affecting the next circuit? (so you don't have a wire from the power source to each circuit, like there is in my example)

wow wow... look who is back big_smile

i was trying to use a clock as main power source, i was trying to make it so that after n* cycles a door/pit gets powered/unpowered permanently so maybe linking the cells that way will take an awful lot of space


Current Incarnation: none
Previous Houses: Ticking Nightmare - Luna's Park - Hightower Mansion - Chang's Place

Offline

#5 2015-01-28 10:21:25

eppfel
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2014-02-01
Posts: 324
Website

Re: memory cells connection

So this if n*cycles means steps in the game then all you need is a counter.
For example this door is always powered after 10steps. http://castledraft.com/editor/LJHdcA

But I guess you mean something different.

Offline

#6 2015-01-28 10:44:59

mala
Member
Registered: 2014-02-10
Posts: 415

Re: memory cells connection

eppfel wrote:

So this if n*cycles means steps in the game then all you need is a counter.
For example this door is always powered after 10steps. http://castledraft.com/editor/LJHdcA

But I guess you mean something different.

i need the door to close permanently after n* cycles, while the clock keeps going.

that's why a was thinking about linking a series of memory cells to the clock, so that you have to reach that door at least in n*-1 step, otherwise you'll be locked out while the rest of the house keeps bipping.


Current Incarnation: none
Previous Houses: Ticking Nightmare - Luna's Park - Hightower Mansion - Chang's Place

Offline

#7 2015-01-28 11:19:34

iceman
Member
Registered: 2013-11-09
Posts: 687
Website

Re: memory cells connection

That's what eppfel's example will do.  If you want to still use the clock, you can just connect other traps to the clock normally.  In this case, the trapdoor will switch after every 2 steps:

http://castledraft.com/editor/xd0RUZ


Fortress Theory Mod - New objects, tools, and paintings!

I keep dying of a natural cause - Stupidity
The biggest thing that Castle Doctrine has taught me is that the price of your house is proportional to the stupidity of the mistake that kills you.

Offline

#8 2015-01-28 16:50:09

mala
Member
Registered: 2014-02-10
Posts: 415

Re: memory cells connection

iceman wrote:

That's what eppfel's example will do.

yes, you're right, i didn't noticed the inverted switch beyond the door smile

ty guys

Last edited by mala (2015-01-28 19:20:56)


Current Incarnation: none
Previous Houses: Ticking Nightmare - Luna's Park - Hightower Mansion - Chang's Place

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB 1.5.8